2019 American Bonsai Society Convention Co-Hosted by HBS

Held: April 11 – 14, 2019

Houston Texas


Thanks to the Featured Guest Artists 

Boonyarat Manakitivipart Ryan Neil Enrique Castano de la Serna


 Click here for full artist’s information. 

Exhibition Awards Winners

LSBF Awards:

Best Viewing Stone – Vern Maddox
 Best Kusamono – Pete Parker
Best Conifer – Howard Smith
Best Shohin Tree – Scott Barboza and Brian Gurrola
Best Shohin Display – Mark Fields
Honorable Mention Shohin Display – Hoe Chuah
Best Deciduous – Pete Parker
Best Tropical – Pete Parker
Honorable Mention Tropical – Robert Kempinsky
Best Texas Native – Dawn Koetting
Best Broadleaf Evergreen – Mark Guo
People’s Choice – Hoe Chuah

ABS Awards:

ABS Medallion – Scott Barboza
John Naka Award – Dawn Koetting

  Joshua Roth Contest

The Joshua Roth/ABS New Talent Contest recognizes and promotes new bonsai talent in North America. 

First Place – Luis Teran

Second Place – Bryan Correa  


Click here to go to the full convention photo page.

Thanks to everyone who attended the 2019 American Bonsai Society (ABS) Convention and a special thank you to all the volunteers that helped us put on a great show.

Visit the American Bonsai Society website.